Breaking: Oyetola Wins APC Guber Primary, Defeats Aregbesola’s Man

The incumbent governor of Osun State, Governor Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola, has been declared as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election that was held on Saturday 19th of February across the state.

The chairman of the governorship primary election committee and the present governor of Kwara State, Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, said that Oyetola is the winner of the election having defeated his closest opponent with the margin of over 200,000 votes after the compilation of all the results. Governor Gboyega Oyetola was able to secure a total of 222, 169 votes against his closest opponent, Moshood Adeoti, who gathered 12, 921 votes. Similarly, the last of the candidates, Honourable Lasun Yusuf, got a total of 460 votes.

Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq said that Governor Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola won in all the thirty local government areas of Osun State without other candidates securing any of the local government areas. The election chairman, Abdulrazaq, also affirmed that the number of registered voters in Osun State was 408,697 while only 247, 207 were accredited to vote in the election.

The State Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State, Gboyega Fomoodun, also expressed his joyous atmospheric condition as the election was concluded on a good note. He commended the efforts of the Security personnel that made sure that the election was a success in Osun State.

Earlier yesterday, it was reported that Gboyega Oyetola was able to defeat Moshood Adeoti in Aregbesola’s ward in the APC Gubernatorial Election primary. However, this result has been countered by Rasaq Salinsile, the leader of Aregbesola’s faction in Osun State. He claimed that the election came with a lot of anomalies and irregularities and it will not be accepted by the members of the Osun Progressives (TOP). Oyetola got 308 votes in Ifofin, Aregbesola’s ward while Adeoti had 146 votes. Aregbesola has said that he would approach legal means to resolve all anomalies that took place in the electoral processes.


One thought on “Breaking: Oyetola Wins APC Guber Primary, Defeats Aregbesola’s Man

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *