Check Out Other Politicians That Will Jostle For APC’s Ticket In Osun Apart From Oyetola

The chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State has finally concluded to conduct the primary election of the ruling party tomorrow, 19 February after some weeks of speculations. The outcome of the election will determine the choice of politician that will be representing the ruling party at the incoming Osun State gubernatorial election that will take place in July.

It should be recalled that there have been some existing wars of superiority among the top members of the party in the state prior to this moment. Despite all the activities of the reconciliation committee of the party, the party has not been able to resolve the impasses between the leader of the Osun Progressives (TOP), Ogbeni Rauf Adesoji Aregbesola and the incumbent governor of the state, Governor Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola. As it has been known that two people cannot rule a party at the same time, the decision of who will be in control may be taken simultaneously tomorrow.

The following politicians will jostle for the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) tomorrow ahead of the incoming gubernatorial election that has been scheduled to hold tomorrow. One of the following politicians will emerge to fly up the flag of the party ahead of the forthcoming state election.

1. Gboyega Oyetola

He is the current governor of the state and he came immediately after the departure of Aregbesola from the governor’s office. He is planning to be reelected in the incoming gubernatorial election. He had the support of his predecessor when he came to power then but suddenly had rifts with him.

Currently, he does not have the support of the immediate past governor of Osun State but he has the support of some bigwigs of the party behind him. Former Governor Bisi Akande has significantly thrown his support behind Governor Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola.

2. Lasun Yusuf

He is a former Deputy Speaker of the Federal House of Representatives. When he was in Abuja as the Deputy Speaker of the House, he was not that far from Osun State. He has developed his ambitions to be the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the next election.

Lasun Yusuf is one of the top members of Aregbesola’s camp and the fact that he has Aregbesola behind him gives him a boost ahead of other members of the party that will be contesting tomorrow. He jostles for the ticket of the ruling party alongside Oyetola tomorrow.

3. Moshood Adeoti

Adeoti is not a new politician as far as Osun State politics is concerned. He ran against Oyetola in the previous election and he was able to gather over 40,000 votes under the platform of the Action Democratic Party (ADP). He is too grassroots politician who has served in several offices before he was made the Secretary to the State Government (SSG) during the tenure of former Governor Aregbesola. He would be part of the people that will fight for the party’s ticket.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *